Stocking Update 07-05-16

Just a quick update on the stocking as I finally finished the middle third and am now working on the bottom third. When I last posted (06-12-16), I was at this point: 20160610_212937

This last week I was able to put in some dedicated time and by the end of the week, This area looked like: 20160702_185330

As you can see, the outlining and embellishing on this section still needs to be done, however, I always like to do that the very last, so I chose to move on to the bottom section. Here is where I was as of last night when I went to bed: 20160705_113024

Please forgive the lighting in this picture. Hopefully my next one will be much improved. The toe of the stocking goes off to the left. Hopefully I will get the outline of the toe stitched in as it will give me a reference point. This is only the second project that I have worked on evenweave two over two and I am seeing the stitches better as I go. At first it was a real learning curve as I had only stitched one over one on 28-count evenweave before and also have not finished the other evenweave project that is two over two. It is another WIP that I would like to finish, but not nearly as pressing as this one. It is for me and there is no rush. This is for DD and then I have DS’s. You will also notice that I did not get this finished by June 30. Life very much got in the way and continues to get in the way, but we are persevering.

Stay tuned for an update on a new knitting project that I have already cast on during vacation and then totally RIPPED back and re-cast on. I am not sure, but may have to RIP back yet again. Only time will tell if I decide to or not.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stocking Update 07-05-16

  1. You have made quite a bit of progress on your stocking. It’s looking beautiful. Can’t wait to see your knitting project. I hope that you have it figured out and don’t have to rip it out again. I have a shawl that I have knitted and ripped out so many times. I have it knitted up to the row that has given me the trouble, but have not touched it since. I am afraid. LOL

    • Thank you for your encouragement. I am hoping to post another update this weekend as I am working on the bottom third. As for the knitting, I am hoping not to have to rip out this time, but only time will tell. I so understand your concern about getting to a certain “troublesome” point. Perhaps writing that row out separately and then counting carefully might get you through? I’m crossing my fingers and toes for you. I have faith in your abilities.

Comments are closed.