Overdue

Life seems to have a way of racing by while you are trying to keep up! The list of things that need to be done gets longer despite the number of items that get crossed off. And time escapes with a “whoosh”. All this is to say that things are very busy in our corner of the world.

Crafting has taken a bit of a backseat most days because plans are being finalized for a joint Pathfinder Camporee this next week, plans are being finalized for DS’s senior year of high school, and the garden is finally producing. All in all, it is a great time, but super busy!

No progress has been made on the stocking. This makes me sad as it waits on the floor stand patiently hoping that I will put aside other tasks to spend some time to make progress. Time and pain in my right elbow have slowed down that project considerably for now.

Even my knitting is slower and not happening all the time thanks to elbow pain. I suspect it is a bit of tennis elbow, though I haven’t been playing tennis. More like a protest at all of the crafting and weeding.

The garden is doing well for what did come up. A mess of green beans were picked last week and out of it we were able to get two meals. I should be able to pick them again either after work tomorrow evening or Monday morning. There are 4-5 small watermelons on one vine, so we will have to get rid of the smaller ones to encourage the 2-3 largest to grow bigger. The onions and beats continue to grow and there are a few more tomatoes on the vines. One of the Roma tomatoes is actually starting to turn red. As for the larger leafed plants, I am not sure yet if they are pumpkins that came up voluntarily or what. They are starting to try and set fruit but can’t tell yet. I thought I planted cucumbers there, but these plants don’t look like cucumber plants. 20160801_080726

With only two roosters and 20 hens, we are getting quite a few eggs. Peace reigns in the chicken pen for the moment. Last week the brooder box and coop were cleaned out and fresh shavings were laid down. We are going to try the method of adding a layer of shavings periodically over the course of the fall and winter to see if we will have a nice compost to add to the raised beds next spring. Additionally, last Monday when DS was unable/unwilling to go outside because of a very painful sunburn on his shoulders, arms, and the back of his legs, he threaded a wire hanger through a head of cabbage for the chickens. By the end of the day, the cabbage was gone, but they thoroughly enjoyed it.

20160801_080542

Those crazy humans! What are they doing to us now?

20160801_080603

Yum!

And lastly, one week ago today, DH and the kids tried out DFIL’s new pool. They had a lot of fun and are hoping to repeat this evening. 20160730_192625

This new week will be busy with getting DH and DS off to Camporee, making sure the weeding and chicken care are done, picking and preserving the garden, work, household chores, and hopefully making some blackberry jam as well! Hope your week is everything you wish it to be! Until next time, happy summer days to everyone!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Overdue

  1. claire93 says:

    lovely fresh veggie from the garden ^^

    • DS and I picked another good-sized batch of green beans and a small red Roma tomato this morning. We also checked the watermelons. They have at least tripled in size. I hope they will finish growing before the weather gets too cold.

  2. Sounds like you are really busy. And unfortunately, when we get busy, the days and weeks seem to fly by. I can’t believe we are nearing the end of summer already. I do hope that your elbow gets better and that you are able to get some crafting in soon. Have you tried wearing the bands for your tennis elbow? I can’t for the life of me recall what they are called, but they are like a brace, about 2 1/2″ wide and the velcro around the arm. I had to wear them on both arms in the past. Worn just above the elbow. Not sure that they actually do anything, but I think more of a reminder not to use the muscles and tendons so much so that they can heal. May help when you garden. The beans look delicious! Love fresh green beans.

    • I have been wearing an elbow brace that we have though not all the time. The pain is not constant now which is an improvement however I have to stop and rest just when I get a good rhythm going. Thankfully my family is willing to help me with some of the garden work, but like my crafting that is my “therapy”.

  3. It’s good you are wearing a brace, stopping when you know your limits and are letting family help. Things that are very hard for us sometimes. But you definitely do not want to re-injure. Crafting is definitely therapy for many things. Right now you will have to think about your crafting as a reward. Do take care.

  4. It looks so lovely there, I totally adore your chickens. 🙂 Take care and look after yourself. 🙂

Comments are closed.