I got them first!

So DH and DS put up a partial chicken fence around the tomatoes last Sunday to see if that would keep out the nasty gophers that I suspected were eating my ripe tomatoes. It has been a busy week and this morning I when I went out to water the garden, I found 4 tomatoes that were starting to ripen. Quickly picking them, I discovered that one had some bites out of it, however there were three that hadn’t been touched. 20160825_111241

They are not fully ripe, however I am not leaving them on the vine to be eaten on by anything. My hope is that we can at least put these in sandwiches. DH and I love tomato and mayonnaise sandwiches when the tomatoes are from our own garden. I think we might get to have at least one or two. There are also more green tomatoes that hopefully will ripen. With cooler temperatures at night (low 50s) who knows!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I got them first!

  1. Fungus and hornworms got my tomatoes this year. Tangling with a gopher doesn’t sound like much fun either!

    • We used to have hornworms in Texas on our tomatoes. My dad fought them every year. I honestly don’t remember what he used to get rid of them. I know that I have dusted our garden with DE in previous years and had good luck with getting rid of bugs, all except earwigs which don’t go away any better than gophers.

      • I’m in coastal Alabama. This is my first year trying a vegetable garden. Still on a learning curve. Next spring I am going to have on hand some DE, Neem Oil, and Bt before I plant.

        • Are your temperatures mild enough to have a fall garden? When we lived in Texas, we would have tomatoes on the vines until Thanksgiving, pick the remaining ones green and they would ripen for Christmas dinner. We also planted brussels sprouts and broccoli in the fall. Cooler temperatures made them grow well. Good luck with planning for next year! It is so much fun!

          • The winters here are mild, enough, Susan. First frost usually occurs in late November, around Thanksgiving, though there have been some years we’ve been into December before it got that cold. The biggest problem I’m having right now is my health. I am currently unable to do a lot of work on preparing beds. Think I have a disc bulging in my neck. 😦 So I am looking at container gardening on a small scale and working a little along on new beds for the spring. Still lots to learn!

            • Oh my! That definitely limits what you can do. Please take real good care of yourself. Container gardening and raised beds will be plenty to keep up. The timing of your frosts sounds like the timing my dad and I dealt with in Texas. Tomatoes do great in containers and can produce until first frost which means lots of nice sandwiches, etc. As for bed preparation, I am blessed with a 16-year-old son that loves to put the bed together. He’s not so much into planting and weeding, but that’s ok because he does what I struggle with.

              • My husband is disabled with degenerative disc disease. My grown son and teen daughter both have massive allergies to almost anything outdoors. Daughter even has an allergy to sweat! I’m the lone ranger when it comes to gardening. Unless you count my dog and cats. They like to “help” sometimes!

                • Keeping it simple is your best option then. Allergies are no fun, though my son fights the seasonal ones. Definitely containers and raised beds. I am hoping to add to my raised beds this next year as DS will be heading off to college before I know it.

Comments are closed.