New to me cake

We have been blessed with lots of eggs as most all of our 19 hens are laying. This is great because usually the neighbor takes all that we don’t need. However, this week the neighbor has been out of town and so I have been trying to use up some of the extra eggs. My BFF took 18 yesterday when we met for coffee, but we still have lots (try 30 collected in the last two days). So in an attempt to carefully use them without causing the family to hate eggs, I decided that maybe it was time to make another Angel Food Cake.

Out came the recipe book and then it hit me: I have all the ingredients AND the right type of cake pan AKA the tube cake pan, to make a Lemon Chiffon Cake! This was going to be an adventure because I had never made a Chiffon Cake of any kind and I don’t remember my mom ever making any either. The picture in the recipe book looked scrumptious and I could make it with cake flour–which I had–or all-purpose flour–which I also had. The top rack was removed from the oven and I began the preheat process to 325ยฐ. Then I carefully followed the recipe to make sure I did everything like it said. Eight eggs were cracked. Five yolks were saved and dumped into the batter to be mixed in. Eight whites were placed in a large bowl with 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar and beaten to stiff whites. The two mixtures were carefully folded together and then put in my tube pan.

This cake takes 1 hour and 15 minutes to bake so I went off to take care of the laundry that had not been done while I was meeting my BFF for coffee yesterday morning. When the cake was finally done, I turned it upside down to cool in the pan over a cake rack. It smelled really good, but according to the recipe I had a two-hour wait ahead of me. Spaghetti casserole was made for supper and after putting it in the oven to bake, I headed off to pick up DD from work. The plan was that I would pull out leftover salad and glaze the cake for dessert when I got back home.

After carefully cutting the cake out of the pan, I quickly made the lemon glaze on the stove. I was thankful for my teakettle as the recipe told me to add boiling water to the glaze. While the glaze turned out okay, I think it needs some work next time. However, the family all ate big pieces of cake. Unfortunately I forgot to take pictures before it was cut into, but you can see it here:ย 20160901_064226

20160901_064226

This is definitely a “keeper” and will be tried with the extended family. It wasn’t that hard to make, though reading the receipe you would have wondered.

Also, yes those are the ripened tomatoes from earlier. We ate one in salad and I have been watching to see if the other ones in the garden are ripening. I think I may have to try the idea of removing the leaves from my tomato plants to see if they will ripen. A dear friend told me that one, so we shall see.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to New to me cake

  1. nanacathy2 says:

    Mmmm CAKE! Sounds and looks yummy!

  2. Well done. I love Angel Cake. Your glaze looks perfect. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Oh that cake looks so yummy! I have not made a cake in so long. Nothing compared to yours from scratch. I may have to try it one day.

Comments are closed.