WIP – Christmas Present

In the past our niece has asked for new mittens most every year for Christmas. This year in my effort to make a few things ahead and not scramble at the last minute I have pulled out the pair I started last year that were still a bit too big. 20160922_195756

These are fairly quick as they are in Knit Picks Wool of the Andes worsted weight yarn. The second one has been cast on with the cabled portion on the opposite side as well as the thumb. This was after ripping back to the top of the ribbing and trying the cables again as I was going to reverse their direction. However, it just wasn’t working out so well, so I am leaving the cables as they are, but putting the thumb gusset on the opposite side and the cables on the opposite side. So far I am up to the first crossing of the cables just past the ribbing, but I failed to get a picture. Perhaps next time I work on them? Maybe by then I might even have the thumb added.

 

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to WIP – Christmas Present

  1. Looks like they will be a lovely, warm pair of mittens. Love the cables.

Comments are closed.