Baking, baking, baking

Today was one of those days when I had certain recipes I had to put to good use, and certain ingredients were in desparate need of being used. While there isn’t a huge lot of time right now while finishing up Christmas crafting, there was no option to wait until later. DS’s girlfriend is coming over to spend the afternoon and supper with our family tomorrow and a dessert needed to be made. Extra pears were purchased at the grocery store so a Pear Tart could be baked. message_1481329412466

For some reason the pear slices became covered with tart batter this time, though I made the recipe the same as before. It still smelled just as good as before so  I’m not overly worried.

Four overly ripe bananas were in the crosshairs of my baking expedition, next. Thankfully I had all the ingredients to make a couple of loaves of banana bread. message_1481329622853

Please forgive the blurry picture. I thought I did better than that.

While these items were baking, some Rhodes Bakery Texas Rolls were thawing and I made the dough for homemade pizza. Once the rolls were thawed, A small cube of mozarella cheese was tucked into the middle of each roll and the top was sprayed with canola oil baking spray. Then I sprinkled the tops with home-prepared hot pepper powder and garlic powder. These were baked in a 350° oven for 15 minutes to melt the cheese and bake the dough.

message_1481331464400

These may not look too grand, but they sure tasted good. Only two were left by the end of supper and those were eaten over the course of the evening.

Finally a pizza was put together with homemade dough, homemade tomato sauce, and shredded mozarella cheese. This was topped with half the pizza hosting sliced fresh mushrooms and sliced black olives, 1/4 the pizza hosting pineapple and sliced black olives, and the final 1/2 hostsing sliced black olives. A green vegetable salad was put together whie the pizza baked. message_1481332200231

Supper was enjoyed by our family and leftover pizza and rolls were snacked on all evening. I think we can say this was a successful meal!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Baking, baking, baking

  1. Oh I can smell all the delicious aromas all the way across the ocean! I’ll be around for tea 😉

  2. All that baking! You are making my mouth water! Everything looks so delicious.

Comments are closed.