Positive Changes

It has been most interesting in the last 3-4 days to listen to friends’ reactions to the newest change in our household. For my part, I have to say it is an extremely positive change and couldn’t have worked out better if I had tried. Oh wait, I bet you would like to know what I am going on about, right? 🙂

For the last eight months, periodically DS has been sending in or dropping off an “updated” application for work at a local publishing company. He was really hoping to work last summer right after he turned 16, but it was not to be. Despite turning in the application before his birthday, the student positions were all filled and they told him to wait. Last August, he sent another student application to the head of the HR department and received a similar reply. As most of you can imagine, he was pretty discouraged when he started his senior year of high school. He had dreams and plans of how that money could be earned and spent, but was denied that possibility. We tried really hard to encourage him and he did his best, pouring his efforts into school, girlfriend, and Pathfinders.

Over the Christmas holiday, I nudged him or rather badgered him several times to send in another student application. He didn’t really want to even though he really wanted a job at this place. “The squeaky wheel gets the grease,” I reminded him. So he pulled up the last one, only to discover that he really needed to print out a new one and update it again.

Thankfully he put the effort into the project and emailed it off to his contact because last Wednesday he received a call about meeting the next day with the supervisor and department head of Shipping. A hair trim, shave, dress up a bit and he was ready to go meet with them. Afterwards he came out and told me that it wasn’t a meeting but he very quickly realized it was an interview! Fingers were crossed, prayers were said and we went home to finish schoolwork, eat lunch and I headed off to drive DD back to the same place as that is where she works.

Before we arrived for her shift, my phone rang. It was DS letting me know that a shopping trip was in order on Friday because HE GOT THE JOB! Steel-toed boots, new blue jeans, and new t-shirts were purchased and today he went in for his first day of work at a “real” job. They both work the same hours but in different departments and will finish in about an hour. I can’t wait to hear how it all went. Especially since all weekend I have heard about all of his plans that he can now accomplish!

As for our friends, they question why I am so excited and happy for my kids as they are both growing up and not “little” any more. It is hard to explain but even though they are growing up, I am so very happy that they are happily accomplishing their personal goals and moving forward in positive ways. That for me, overrides the fact that they aren’t “little” and don’t need me as much anymore because I know they still do, even though they would never want to admit it. 🙂 So all is more than right in  our corner of the world!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Positive Changes

  1. Congratulation to your son. He must be over the moon. And I know exactly how you feel. You want good things to happen to your children. You want them to achieve what they set out to do. It means they are growing up. And you are right, as much as they never will admit it, they still will need their Mom ❤

Comments are closed.