Update 02-15-17

Happy belated Valentine’s Day to all my readers! This day is not celebrated overly in our household because DH and I have our anniversary a few days prior to Valentine’s and my mother’s birthday is on the 15th. However, we always try to at least get candy for the kids even though they are 16 and 21 now.

So a short post is Β in order to apprise you of the latest progress on DD’s stocking. This is where we were on the middle section:

20170124_163249

January 24, 2017

I have been watching Flosstube as I stitch and got the bee in my bonnet to get moving on this again. After three days of stitching around housework, chauffering of kids and yes, a nice long chat with my mother this morning wishing her a Happy Birthday, I have reached the point of being able to roll to the bottom section:

20170215_162444

February 15, 2017

The detail is really popping now. I think ofo this section my favorite part is the Raggedy Ann on the bed with the orange French Knot hair. She reminds me of Raggedy Ann dolls in my childhood and teenage years and those memories are very pleasant.

The bottom section is not even really one third of the stocking so I am hoping that if I dedicate myself to getting this project finished, I still have a chance to have it completed by the end of February. Once it is done, I will get started on DS’s stocking as well as spend some time frogging and/or evaluating a cross stitch project that I started several years ago for DH. I want to put together my 3-4 foot scroll frames to put DH’s on so I can have a wide area to stitch and see with minimal crinkling of the fabric.

The end is getting close, though of course I will need to then FFO the stocking but I have to say it is starting to feel really good about this. I have also started another Christmas ornament today as it is the 15th and I need to have it finished by the end of the month. Hopefully I will be able to find some pearl-colored blending filament to complete the third one, but I am moving along for now so that I continue to make progress.

Happy stitching to all those who have been putting in many a stitch. I love seeing your projects and between those and Flosstube I have received lots of inspiration to continue on my own work!

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Update 02-15-17

  1. Bessie V says:

    I seriously LOVE the way this is turning out to look! Can’t wait to see it finished πŸ™‚

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    Coming on wonderfully.

  3. Beautiful progress, well done. And a happy Valentine’s day to you too. πŸ™‚

  4. You are moving right along on the stocking. It is looking fabulous. All the little details everywhere are wonderful. You are getting there πŸ™‚

Comments are closed.