FO 02-21-17

This evening the last French knot was put in the center of a flower and DD’s stocking was declared an FO. Now my happy dance can truly begin. In the last week or two I have been putting lots of time into finishing the backstitching, lazy daisies, and French knots so that I could put this project aside as a finished object (FO). Here is where I was when last I posted:

20170215_162444

February 15, 2017

This was the middle section and I  rolled it down to the bottom and toe to finish up:

20170221_185041

February 21, 2017

Unfortunately the picture had to be taken inside at night and so the colors are not showing as rich as they are in reality. Here is a picture of the stocking in its entirity:

dd-stocking-022117-fo

FO as of February 21, 2017

There was a lot of pleasure in putting the last few French knots in this stocking and seeing it finally finished. I will still have to turn it into a fully finished object (FFO) but that can come later after I purchase fabric, cording, ribbon, and work towards sewing it all together. DD’s name has been obscured for privacy but you can still see how it looks. It seems strange that it is all done, but I am pleased with the outcome.

Next will be loading more fabric on the frame to start DS’s. I am going to alternate work on it with stitching on ornaments, stitching on DH’s characters (which need to also be loaded on very large dowels to go in the scroll frame, knitting, and making a WIP roll and a project bag or two. For now I am off to organize projects and perhaps even load fabric. If I don’t load it tonight, it will be worked on tomorrow.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to FO 02-21-17

  1. It is absolutely stunning, well done. You did an amazing job. I am loving it. 🙂

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    Just gorgeous. Well done.

  3. Congratulations on the finish!! I know you are doing the happy dance. It turned out so beautiful and you should be so proud of yourself.

    • Thank you Ginny! Yes I am very happy right now with this finish. I hope to have the fabric on the scroll frame before day’s end for DS’s so I can get it done next. I would love to have both as FFOs before Christmas this year.

Comments are closed.