Time flies too fast

It has been way too long since I posted last but life has kept charging along, dragging me with it. This week has been a bit different as DFIL went in for emergency heart surgery after a return from a mission trip. God has graciously brought him through with flying colors and we will look at three months of cardiac rehab. I see more knitting and crocheting than cross stitching in my immediate future.

Crafting has been limited but I am going to slip in a picture or two here.

Side one and three of another ornament. I had to sub two of the threads because I didn’t want to spend $5-8 per skein. I also am not using the called for fabric so a change was mad for edges for when I seam up later. I have also stitched side 2 and most of side 4. However I don’t have a picture. My plan is to hopefully finish aside 4 and the personalized bottom piece tonight or this weekend and set aside to put together later in the year when I have a finishing session.

This is ornament number 5. Nothing was changed other than the fabric. I love the look of this fabric but it is a very stiff piece of Aida. My plan  was to finish this ad a flat ornament however DD is very insistent that it be framed and put on the wall. It is small so will be easy to frame. 

The Knit Picks Chroma socks in the Fog Bank color way are still being knit on occasionally and will be one of the projects that will see more love in the next three months. There isn’t a new picture but I am on the 3rd repeat…of the first sock.

The scrap cowl is done. I am pretty sure that of the weather is nasty next winter I will enjoy it. 

In the midst of everything else this week I was finally able to find Caron Cakes in the Red Velvet colorway. This colorway is closest to the color combination that my mom expressed an interest in having another Virus Shawl made from. I have been carrying it with me to work on since I started it Wednesday morning while DFIL was in surgery. I am about halfway through a cake after two mornings. It didn’t go with me today but will be back with me tomorrow when we spend the morning at the hospital. I am using a Caspian rocket hook from Knit Picks in size E, I believe. Again I haven’t taken a picture. 

As I have written this I am realizing I really need to have another photo session to catch up. It has just been easier to craft…after all it is great therapy, right?

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Time flies too fast

  1. MrsCraft says:

    You’ve been busy! I hope your father in law makes a swift recovery.

  2. nanacathy2 says:

    I agree, that it is crafting that keeps one sane at difficult times. Hope you have agood weekend.

  3. All the best to your Father in law. Hugs and good wishes on a speedy recovery.
    Love your stitching, as always. It looks so delicate. πŸ™‚
    Well done on the shawl, great work.
    Have a great week and take care. πŸ™‚

  4. Crafting is indeed great therapy. Something about the pulling of the needled, in and out of the fabric, or sliding one stitch from one needle to the other or the glide of a crochet hook, pulling each stitch through. It gives us time with ourselves, to think and reflect and to help pass the time while waiting. Prayers for your Father in law for a quick recovery. Your ornaments are looking very pretty. Can’t wait to see them finished. Especially the one with sides.

    • Thank you for the prayers for him. He came home today and is already pushing for a quick recovery. That ornament has me a bit worried which is why I am waiting to think about the construction of it.

Comments are closed.