Waiting and Huge Mistake

Today begins DFIL’S cardio rehab appointments for the next 2 to 3 months. He is back with the therapist and DSIL for intake and first session. They only let one other person back with him so I will wait to hear how it went and what expectations are between visits.

The huge mistake? Because I expected to be involved in his visit this morning I didn’t slip a project into my purse to pass the time with. Positive is I am writing a post while I wait.

The Virus Shawl for my mom was finished last evening. Pictures will hopefully be taken later today and posted. I am hoping to put it in the mail before Mother’s Day.

In other news, the second Christmas ornament of the month was finished night before last. 

This is the ornament designed by Thistle Threads in the 2008 Christmas ornament issue of Just Cross Stitch. I have made some changes as some of the materials are no longer made. The first change was the perforated paper. I am using white 14-count perforated paper. I found that it is harder to work on this at night when my eyes are tired as the holes were hard to see and sometimes seemed to jump around. This was quite a surprise as I don’t have trouble with Aida, evenweave or linen at night. The next change was choosing not to use the Rainbow Gallery Petite Alpaca PB61. This thread is a fuzzy thread that is supposed to be used in horizontal long stitches over the gray portions of the ornament. 123stitch.com does not carry this and while I found it at a few other places for $2.50 plus shipping, the shipping was ridiculous for just the one small item and not worth it to me for just the one project. Also I didn’t want to add to the order to “justify” the shipping.

Felt or nice paper and a ribbon will be needed to make this a FFO. Maybe that will happen later this year when I finish the other ornaments.

The two ornaments for stitching in May have been kitted up ready to begin on Monday. If I had been thinking, I would be knitting on DS’S sock that I have picked up in between projects. Must. Put. In. My. Bag.

I am now much further along than this–only 1/4 repeat from the heel. Perhaps if I keep it in my purse I will get further along as I won’t forget it when there are a few minutes to wait.

Thank you for your patience. Scheduled are still very much in flux so posting and crafting is only when I can sneak it in.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waiting and Huge Mistake

  1. Definitely keep that project in your purse or in a bag in your car. I just hate sitting and waiting with nothing to do with my hands. It is looking very nice, by the way. Love the Nutcracker ornament. He looks fabulous and that metallic thread just made me smile. Good luck with all of the appointments with your FIL. I hope he has a quick recovery.

  2. Indeed, keep a little project at hand, or some electronic magazines on your tablet or phone. All the best with the appointments, may they go very well and smooth. Take care. Hugs.

Leave a Reply

