At long last

The Virus Shawl in the Red Velvet colorway has been completed, photographed, and put in the mail to be given to my mother for Mothers Day. It is just a lot easier and safer to send the package to my sister who lives 10 minutes away from Mom and have her deliver it. A phone call this morning let her know that a package is on its way, however I chose not to tell her what is in it. 20170508_112136The colors are fairly true to life though the darker red is not so purple. It is a maroon. I hope that she enjoys this one, too. She was wishing for one in these colors but I had been challenged with finding the colors she wanted. Mom started one, but became distracted and tired so it didn’t get very far.

Another ornament has been completed from the 2008 Just Cross Stitch Christmas issue. This one took 2-3 days and is Charland’s Designs “Santa Topper”. Since I finished it quickly, I was able to sort through other projects and also work on the scrap acrylic yarn afghan that I want to finish.

It is my hope to get some sewing done very soon. There is a whole basket of bags and gadget holders that need to be sewn. I also would like to make some new tops/blouses for summer and perhaps a dress. And finally, I need to make some more project bags, a grime guard or two, and drawstring slipcover bags for projects to protect them when I am not working on them.

Life update: The final year of high school is rapidly coming to a close for DS. He is so ready to be done and I’m ready for him to be done, but not looking forward to some of the changes. He is a wonderful young man with great potential. A celebration early in June is being planned for family and friends. My hope is that he will achieve all of his dreams and be able to pursue them with much success.

Additionally, plans are coming along nicely for the Pathfinder Camporee in September and the Pathfinder Coordinators Convention/Pathfinder Bible Experience Union Event in March 2018. Both are big projects, however I think the second one will seem quite simple after getting through the Camporee in September. Please keep us in your prayers and thoughts as we work hard to make both of these successful events for the kids.

Until next time, thank you for having patience with the sporadic posts. I am holding onto hope that things will eventually settle down into a routine. Keep your sewing needles, crochet hooks, and knitting needles busy and enjoy each project you work on.

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother and homeschool teacher to DS15, chauffeur/riding companion to DD20, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At long last

  1. Awesome shawl, those colours really work well together. You are nice and busy, and even though keeping busy is good, so is taking a rest now and again. I think the Camporee will be perfect. And all the best to your DS, time goes so quickly. It feels like yesterday my daughter finished and started at the University, and now it has been many years already.
    Have a great week. 🙂

  2. The shawl is beautiful!!! Love the pattern. Your Mom is going to love it. This is a busy time of year with your son graduating. Time of changes and decisions. I wish him all the best in his new journey post graduation. Best of wishes that all goes well for your Camporees. Sounds like a big undertaking.

Leave a Reply

