Update 05-29-17 with Pictures

 

It has been almost three weeks since I posted anything so “Thank you” to everyone for their patience. The last few weeks of high school and finishing up application to college for DS have been super busy. Additionally, we are hosting a celebration for him this weekend and planning has been very busy on that front. Wish me well as I prepare lots of finger foods and finalize shopping. I am blessed with my BFF who has offered to come over ahead the day of the celebration and help with last minute prepping and decorating.

In between everything else, I have managed to finish a few projects and put in work on a few others. So in order of work and/or completion, here we go:

Mothers Day Flowers

This is the lovely bouquet of roses and flowers that DH gave me for Mother’s Day. I must say I was very surprised and so pleased as it is just beautiful. He also helped DD order a box of chocolate-dipped strawberries from Edible Arrangements. DS made a beautiful card with a wonderful personal message in it that shows just how much he also loves his mother. I am so blessed and loved by my family.

Simple Stitches Ornament

This project was begun on May 15 and finished in about a week. It is the Christmas ornament designed by Simple Stitches from the Just Cross Stitch ornament issue of 2008. I may still outline the lamb on the left and Baby Jesus in the manger. The metallic threads were the most annoying to work with. I had purchased the listed Kreinik with the exception of the orange metallic for Joseph’s head covering. That was the easiest metallic because it was a Rainbow Gallery Petite Treasure Braid. Next time I am going to make all effort to purchase Rainbow Gallery Petite Treasure Braids unless the pattern calls for a blending filament. This will be FFOd later this year when I finish all of the ornaments.

Thirty-one years ago my mom made a quilt for me when I first moved away from home. This was her gift to me that has been used many times on my bed and then DH’s and my bed over the years. The blocks are hearts separated by nine-patch blocks and sashed together. The quilt top is made from scraps of double-knit fabrics and the backing is a cotton. Inside is a polyester batting which was her signature way of making sure that the quilt would be plenty warm. As you can see from the blocks above, it was tied together with white acrylic worsted-weight yarn. When I pulled this off of our bed recently, I noticed that the binding needed to be resewn and there were 3-4 heart blocks that needed to have the hearts sewn back down. Originally all of the hearts were machine appliqued with a zigzag stitch, however since I was just sewing them back down, I chose to learn how to make the buttonhole stitch and get the job done before putting the quilt away for the summer. There were a total of four blocks that needed to be sewn: two like the first one and then the middle and right ones. For now it is repaired and stored away with the rest of the quilts until we need it in the fall.

Scrap Afghan

Please forgive the slightly blurry picture. I took several and this was the best of the lot. It also doesn’t really show the vibrance of the colors despite good lighting. This is a scrap acrylic afghan that was made to cover a sofa that is 12-15 years old. I needed to use up the yarn and also needed to try out a pattern. I have purchased 6-7 colors of Knit Picks Wool of the Andes in worsted-weight yarn to make a similar one for DS to take with him when he goes away to university in two years. He plans to spend his first two years here at a local community college completing his general studies before going away to complete a chosen bachelors in Chemistry. This was a plan we encouraged as he just finished high school and won’t be 17 until close to the end of June. My plan is to work on his wool afghan this winter as a carry around project when I am running errands or even at home when everyone is gone. Most likely I won’t start on it until the end of September or early October.

Nostalgic Notions Progress 052917

This is an old WIP from several years ago that I had started, made mistakes, and set aside. When I picked it back up this time, only the face, torso, cloth across the lap and legs were complete, however I had to take all of the legs out and part of the cloth. I am not sure if it is correct even now, but will most likely know for sure by the time I complete the outlining. It comes from Sweeter than the Rose by Leisure Arts and is shown in the book under the section titled “Nostalgic Notions”. The fabric is a light pink scrap of Aida and I am using most of the called for threads with the exception of the metallic on the wings. For that I used Rainbow Gallery Petite Treasure Braid in orange instead of the called for Kreinik. I like it so much better. I have added the wings, the rose at the left and half stitches for the floor as well as the ribbon and roses on the top right. I also had to restitch the left arm and hand as it was not right either. All that is left is the outlining which as you can see is coming along slowly. My plan is to see how far I get in the next two days before the next Christmas ornament is started on June 1.

And finally:

Hermoines Everyday Socks Progress 052917

One technique that I wanted to try and overcome this summer was to knit two socks on two circular needles. Additionally, I wanted to see if I could knit Hermoine’s Everyday Sock pattern. Yes, I’m late to the show, but that’s just how it is. Each sock was started separately using the Magic Loop method for the first 10 rows of ribbing. Then I carefully combined the two socks and two circulars and after lots of careful planning and a rip back on half of a round of ribbing on one sock, I was finally able to figure out how this was to be accomplished. The remaining 10 rows of ribbing have been completed and two rows of knitting as I needed to go down 4 stitches on each sock before I started following the pattern correctly with a total of 64 stitches around for each sock. This project has sat for almost a week as I dropped everything to finish the scrap acrylic afghan before we have people over for DS’s celebration this weekend. Yarn is Knit Picks Stroll fingering weight in the African Violet colorway. Circular needles are Knit Picks fixed circulars with nickel tips, size 0, one 32-inch and one 40-inch. Hopefully I can pick these back up tomorrow after taking DD and DS to work at 10 a.m. and start the leg pattern. Wish me luck as I rethink how I was working with two circulars and two socks. I so want to make this happen as it would cure the Second Sock Syndrome issue that I sometimes have.

With an early morning ahead, I will stop for now. If you have stayed with me this far, thank you very much. Hopefully I will only have 2 WIPs to show progress on and 2 new starts next time I post. The two WIPs would be the last cross stitch project and the socks and the two starts should be the June 1 ornament and (crossing my fingers) DS’s Christmas stocking. That list, of course, doesn’t include sewing that I hope to get done as well.

 

About susanssnippets

I wear multiple hats: wife of 25+ years, mother, chauffeur/riding companion to DD22 and DS17, daughter/daughter-in-law, crafter, home engineer and too many others to list.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Update 05-29-17 with Pictures

  1. MrsCraft says:

    My goodness, you’re so busy! It really is hard sometimes to go back and finish it mend older projects when you’re itching to start something new. Enjoy your son’s celebrations. 😊

  2. What a busy time, and such awesome projects and plans. Wow.
    I think you quilt must be gorgeous, and very special. I love the cheerful blanket, and great job at the two socks together on circulars. I like to knit my socks that way as well, and I find it very easy once you got the hang of it. And you wont have second sock syndrome, as you finish both at the same time. 🙂 Enjoy.

    • Thank you for your kind words. I really hope that two at a time becomes the way to do it for me as I have a good bit of yarn I want to turn into socks. Yes, the quilt is beautiful and very special as Mom just cannot sew much anymore. I will treasure it always.

      • Always glad to see your posts and read them. I found that two at a time works better for me, as I get to finish both socks at the same time. 🙂
        Indeed, treasures from our Moms are always special. I have a quilted blanket from my Mom, and I am seriously considering taking it out of its wrapping and using it again this winter after reading your post. I packed it away and have not used it for years. 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration. Have a great day.

  3. You have been very busy! You are doing so great with making your Christmas ornaments. Another nice one to add to the pile. I love the scrapghan. I look forward to seeing you start and work on the one for your son. That will be a very nice going away gift for him. The cross stitch angel is looking so sweet. I do hope that you do not have to rip out any more it. The colors are so pretty. I look forward to seeing more of this one. And socks…I give kudos to for trying something new with knitting socks. I have never knitted a pair of socks-seems very intimidating to me. But love to watch others knit them. 🙂

    • Thank you for you kind and encouraging words. The busy helps to work through the change from being needed lots by my children to their becoming more independent and growing up. Crafting helps to balance me and offers time to sort through the rest of my life while making pretties. I love making socks and have plenty of yarn to do so. I am also blessed with DH and DS who love homemade socks.

Comments are closed.